Dvořák’s New World Symphony - VIRTUAL

Dvořák’s New World Symphony - VIRTUAL

Saturday, June 19, 2021 . 7PM EDT
Photo by Jessica Schaefer
Principal People: 

Ruth Reinhardt, conductor
National Orchestral Institute Philharmonic

Special Announcement: 

You are viewing information to purchase digital access to the concert livestream.

This broadcast is available to view only during the live performance.

To purchase an in-person concert ticket, please click here

Event Attributes

Presented By


For more information regarding accessible accommodations, please click here.


Quickly establishing herself as one of today’s leading conductors, Ruth Reindhart is highly acclaimed for her imaginative and elegant performances. In her NOI+F debut, she leads the NOI Philharmonic in a tour de force program anchored by Dvořák’s monumental New World Symphony. Samuel Coleridge-Taylor is among the leading British composers in music history. His Ballade in A minor was commissioned by the Three Choirs Festival in Britain and launched the composer to prominence with its spirited warmth and passion. Paul Hindemith drew inspiration for his hopeful Nobilissima Visione from Italian painter Giotto's medieval frescos portraying the life of Francis of Assisi–from his renunciation of worldly goods to his mystical devotion to his faith. Antonín Dvořák’s Symphony No. 9 in E minor–commonly known as his New World Symphony–is a pillar of American culture, selecting Indigenous and African American musical traditions as its source of inspiration.

The National Orchestral Institute + Festival, a program of the University of Maryland’s Clarice Smith Performing Arts Center, trains aspiring orchestral musicians, composers, conductors and arts administrators from across the country in a month of dynamic music-making and professional exploration at The Clarice Smith Performing Arts Center. Musicians are chosen through a rigorous, cross-country audition process. Every year, these young artists present passionate and awe-inspiring performances of adventuresome repertoire at The Clarice Smith Performing Arts Center.

Click here to view event guide.



Samuel Coleridge-Taylor: Ballade for Orchestra in A minor, Op. 33

Paul Hindemith: Nobilissima Visione

Antonín Dvořák: Symphony No. 9 in E minor, Op. 95, “From the New World”