The NOI Philharmonic Unbound: Mendelssohn, Bacewicz & Stravinsky - VIRTUAL

The NOI Philharmonic Unbound: Mendelssohn, Bacewicz & Stravinsky - VIRTUAL

Friday, June 11, 2021 . 7PM EDT
Principal People: 

Kenneth Slowik, conductor
National Orchestral Institute Philharmonic

Special Announcement: 

This digital broadcast is no longer available to view.

Event Attributes

Presented By

Presented By: 

For more information regarding accessible accommodations, please click here.


Artistic Director of the Smithsonian Chamber Music Society and University of Maryland School of Music faculty member Kenneth Slowik makes his NOI+F conducting debut in a special program featuring repertoire by Stravinsky, Bacewicz and Mendelssohn. Drawing upon a combination of woodwind and brass instruments, Symphonies of Wind Instruments creates serene beauty through Igor Stravinsky’s signature harmonic austerity. Polish composer and violinist Grażyna Bacewicz’s Concerto for String Orchestra is a pillar of neoclassicist writing–staying simultaneously native to classical music’s Baroque roots while striving to spotlight the modern sonorities of the 20th century. Felix Mendelssohn's virtuosic Symphony No. 4 conveys vivid impressions of Italy–from the sunshine of the Meditarrenean Sea to the solemnity of the country's religious ceremonies.

The National Orchestral Institute + Festival, a program of the University of Maryland’s Clarice Smith Performing Arts Center, trains aspiring orchestral musicians, composers, conductors and arts administrators from across the country in a month of dynamic music-making and professional exploration at The Clarice Smith Performing Arts Center. Musicians are chosen through a rigorous, cross-country audition process. Every year, these young artists present passionate and awe-inspiring performances of adventuresome repertoire at The Clarice Smith Performing Arts Center.



Igor Stravinsky: Symphonies of Wind Instruments

Grażyna Bacewicz: Concerto for String Orchestra

Felix Mendelssohn: Symphony No. 4, "Italian"