Prokofiev's Romeo and Juliet: University Orchestra

Prokofiev's Romeo and Juliet

University Orchestra
Tuesday, March 5, 2024 • 8PM
Photo by Paige Leckie.
Special Announcement: 

The livestream of this event will only be available to view during the performance. The video will not be available for viewing after the concert.

Event Attributes

Presented By

Presented By: 

For more information regarding accessible accommodations, please click here.

Estimated Length: 
75 minutes
Program Notes: 


Simone Pierpaoli, cellist

The University Orchestra brings Shakespeare's timeless love story to the orchestral stage with Prokofiev's Romeo and Juliet. The seventh of Prokofiev's nine ballets, Romeo and Juliet underscores the tragic love story of Shakespeare's iconic characters and scenes, including the Capulet's ball and the death's of the star-crossed lovers. This performance will also feature works by Marquez and Rimsky-Korsakov.


Nikolai Rimsky-Korsakov: Russian Easter Overture
Sergei Prokofiev: movements from Romeo and Juliet and Sinfonia Concertante
Arturo Marquez: Danzon No. 2


Led by students of the graduate conducting studio, UOrch (formerly UMRO) is a unique orchestra of musicians from across campus that performs four full concerts each season. Repertoire varies based on instrumentation and consists of works for both chamber and full orchestra.