Golijov, Strauss & Beethoven: UMD Symphony Orchestra • IN-PERSON

Golijov, Strauss & Beethoven • IN-PERSON

UMD Symphony Orchestra
Friday, May 6, 2022 . 8PM
Photo by David Andrews.
Principal People: 

David Neely, conductor

Event Attributes

Presented By

Presented By: 

For more information regarding accessible accommodations, please click here.

Estimated Length: 
This performance will last approximately 2 hours.

The UMD Symphony Orchestra's (UMSO) season finale will feature the celestial Sidereus by Osvaldo Golijov, Till Eulenspiegel’s Merry Pranks by Richard Strauss and Ludwig van Beethoven’s cheerful Symphony No. 8 in F Major, Op. 93. In partnership with The Clarice's Visiting Artist Series, Golijov will visit a rehearsal to work directly with the students in preparation for this performance.

Osvaldo Golijov: Sidereus
Richard Strauss: Till Eulenspiegel’s Merry Pranks
Ludwig van Beethoven: Symphony No. 8 in F Major, Op. 93

About UMSO:
Through its committed and polished performances under the baton of David Neely, UMSO is dedicated to the power of musical communication. In its repertoire, the orchestra explores the intersection between traditional symphonic masterworks and marginalized works from various eras, with many programs featuring composers of diverse backgrounds.

Health & Safety for In-Person Attendance:

There may be COVID-19 safety policies, such as mask requirements, in place when you attend this event. Please see our health and safety page for the most up-to-date information about attendance.