Rimsky-Korsakov's Scheherazade - VIRTUAL

Rimsky-Korsakov's Scheherazade - VIRTUAL

Saturday, June 26, 2021 . 7PM EDT
Photo by Grant Leighton
Principal People: 

Marin Alsop, conductor
National Orchestral Institute Philharmonic

Special Announcement: 

You are viewing information to purchase digital access to the concert livestream.

This broadcast is available to view only during the live performance.


Event Attributes

Presented By

Presented By: 

For more information regarding accessible accommodations, please click here.


World-renowned conductor Marin Alsop makes her first appearance at The Clarice Smith Performing Arts Center as Music Director of the National Orchestral Institute + Festival with works by NOI+F Composition Academy faculty member Brian Raphael Nabors as well as Rimsky-Korsakov’s adventurous epic Scheherazade. Brian Raphael Nabor's Pulse is a contemplation of our world’s natural rhythms. The episodic rhapsody explores life’s colorful rhythmic variants held together by an underlying unified pulse. Rimsky-Korsakov’s Scheherazade illustrates the fantastical tales of its titular Persian princess. Evocative orchestral colors and motivic instrumental solos narrate the exotic journey of love, peril and intrigue inspired by the collection of medieval Middle Eastern folk tales “One Thousand and One Nights.”

The National Orchestral Institute + Festival, a program of the University of Maryland’s Clarice Smith Performing Arts Center, trains aspiring orchestral musicians, composers, conductors and arts administrators from across the country in a month of dynamic music-making and professional exploration at The Clarice Smith Performing Arts Center. Musicians are chosen through a rigorous, cross-country audition process. Every year, these young artists present passionate and awe-inspiring performances of adventuresome repertoire at The Clarice Smith Performing Arts Center.

Click here to view Event Guide.



Brian Raphael Nabors: Pulse

Mason Bates: Desert Transport

Nikolai Rimsky-Korsakov: Scheherazade, Op. 35