Beethoven 250th Celebration

Beethoven 250th Celebration

Faculty Artist Series
Tuesday, December 15, 2020 • 7PM EST
 Beethoven graphic.
Principal People: 

Kenneth Slowik, commentary

Stern/Andrist Duo:
James Stern, violin
Audrey Andrist, piano

The Boston Trio:
Irina Muresanu, violin
Jonah Ellsworth, cello
Heng-Jin Park, piano

Special Announcement: 

To view this broadcast and other archived events, please visit

Event Attributes

Presented By

Presented By: 

For more information regarding accessible accommodations, please click here.

Estimated Length: 
This performance will last approximately 1 hour and 30 minutes with no intermission.
Program Notes: 

Watch the archive of this performance on Vimeo.

Join School of Music faculty and guest artists for a virtual recital in celebration of Beethoven's 250th birthday! Ludwig van Beethoven (1770–1827) remains one of the most performed and beloved composers in the history of Western classical music. He was baptised on December 17, but the exact day of his birth has been forgotten. Could it have been December 15? No one knows for sure.

While the pandemic canceled our in-person celebration, we wouldn't let that ruin our fun! We encourage you to join us virtually for this celebratory performance featuring Beethoven's earliest violin sonata contrasted with his last—and grandest—piano trio. The violin sonata will be played by faculty member James Stern on violin and guest artist Audrey Andrist on piano. The Boston Trio featuring faculty member Irina Muresanu on violin and guest artists Jonah Ellsworth on cello and Heng-Jin Park on piano will perform the piano trio. Kenneth Slowik, School of Music lecturer and artistic director of the Smithsonian Chamber Music Society, will provide historical commentary.

This event was made possible through the generous support of the Tretter Distinguished Faculty Fellowship in Violin fund.


Sonata for Piano and Violin, Op. 12, No. 1 in D

I. Allegro con brio
II. Tema con Variazioni. Andante con moto
III. Rondo. Allegro

Trio for Piano, Violin, and Cello, op. 97 in B-flat, "Archduke"

I. Allegro moderato
II. Scherzo. Allegro
III. Andante cantabile ma però con moto
IV. Allegro moderato