SFJAZZ Collective: The Music of Chick Corea and New Compositions

SFJAZZ Collective

The Music of Chick Corea and New Compositions
Friday, October 12, 2012 . 8PM
SFJAZZ Collective
SFJAZZ Collective photos by Walt Denson
Principal People: 

Tenor saxophone David Sánchez

Trumpet Avishai Cohen

Trombone Robin Eubanks

Vibraphone Stefon Harris

Piano Edward Simon

Bass Matt Penman

Drums Jeff Ballard

Alto saxophone Miguel Zenón

Event Attributes

Presented By

Presented By: 
Estimated Length: 
90 minutes
Program Notes: 

The SFJAZZ Collective, an all-star ensemble of leading jazz performers/composers, will be in residency for a week at the Center, rehearsing and preparing for this new program.

The Music of Chick Corea and New Compositions, which will receive its world premiere here on October 12, will include eight new arrangements of Corea works as well as eight new compositions by Collective members, commissioned by SFJAZZ.

In past seasons, the Collective has performed works by Stevie Wonder, Horace Silver, Wayne Shorter, Thelonious Monk, Ornette Coleman and other musical masters.

SFJAZZ Collective most recently appeared at the Center in The Music of Horace Silver (2010-2011).