UMD Repertoire Orchestra: Tchaikovsky’s Symphony No. 4

UMD Repertoire Orchestra

Tchaikovsky’s Symphony No. 4
Wednesday, March 4, 2015 . 8PM
Principal People: 

Conductor Enrico Lopez-Yanez

Event Attributes

Presented By

Presented By: 
Program Notes: 

Tchaikovsky’s Fourth Symphony is one of the most famous and frequently performed pieces in the symphonic canon. Driven by a search for happiness while constantly struggling with Fate’s obstruction of the path, Tchaikovsky wrote that his fourth was a reflection on Beethoven’s Fifth Symphony. Join UMRO on their third concert of the season as they perform Tchaikovsky’s Symphony No. 4 in F Minor.

This concert also features three symphonic works by the American composer Charles Griffes: The White Peacock, Bacchanale and Clouds, as well as a performance of Sibelius’s Finlandia in honor of the composer’s 150th birthday.