NOI Philharmonic: Take The Reins–Chamber Orchestra Concert

NOI Philharmonic: Take The Reins–Chamber Orchestra Concert

Friday, June 7, 2024 • 7:30PM
Special Announcement: 

The Purple Line and other construction projects are causing some road closures. The Clarice can easily be accessed from MD 193; if you plan to drive through campus, your route may be impacted.

Event Attributes

Presented By

Presented By: 

For more information regarding accessible accommodations, please click here.



Erik Behr, oboe

The spirit of the NOI Philharmonic’s Take the Reins concert is put to the test in this self-conducted exploration of over 200 years of classical composition. Performing sans conductor is always a daunting exercise for an ensemble, but this evening's efforts offer a particular challenge with a program of precisely orchestrated and up-tempo works, each showcasing a different section of the orchestra. The program starts with Pillar IV, American contemporary composer Andy Akiho's intricate, boomingly raucous feature for percussion from 2021. Next, a clever re-orchestration of Maurice Ravel's baroque-inspired suite for piano, Le Tombeau de Couperin, takes the Dekelboum Concert Hall stage. We progress to a woodwind masterwork with Czech-born composer Bohuslav Martinů's 1955 Concerto for Oboe and Small Orchestra. The work's beautifully complex solos, which become particularly knotty in its third movement, will be presented by Erik Behr, Principal Oboe of the Rochester Philharmonic Orchestra and a proud NOI+F alum. The concert closes with a Classical cornerstone in Haydn's rousing Symphony No. 88 from 1787. This cunningly elaborate symphony inventively embellishes on a singular lyrical theme, punctuated with melodic solos from flute, violin and oboe.


Andy Akiho: Pillar IV
Ravel: Le Tombeau de Couperin
Martinu: Oboe Concerto, H.353
Haydn: Symphony No. 88


The National Orchestral Institute + Festival is supported in part by the Maryland State Arts Council, The Morris and Gwendolyn Cafritz Foundation, the Nicolae Bretan Music Foundation, the Kurt Weill Foundation for Music and The Marinus and Minna B. Koster Foundation.