From this world...and then...:UMD Wind Orchestra - LIVESTREAM

From this world...and then... - LIVESTREAM

UMD Wind Orchestra
Friday, December 10, 2021 . 8PM
Photo by David Andrews
Principal People: 

Michael Votta, Jr., conductor
Joseph Scott D.M.A. ’20, guest conductor
James Stern, violin

Special Announcement: 

Please note: This event will be available to view only during the performance. The video will not be available to view after the concert.

Event Attributes

Presented By

Presented By: 

For more information regarding accessible accommodations, please click here.


Take a musical journey into the future of life on this planet. Apotheosis of This Earth grapples with the ecological consequences of humankind’s violence towards nature. Composed by Karel Husa in 1971, its themes are still relevant today. Then, experience the world premiere of Dana Wilson’s violin concerto titled Of my dream before me… featuring Professor James Stern on violin and inspired by the Langston Hughes poem "As I Grew Older." Wind conducting alumnus Joseph Scott D.M.A. ’20 will return as a guest conductor for Symphony No. 4 by Arthur Meulemans. Rounding out the program will be Lili Boulanger’s D’un matin de printemps (Of a Spring Morning) and Bach’s Mein Jesu, Was für Seelenweh (My Jesus, O what anguish), BWV 487.

Lili Boulanger: D’un matin de printemps (Of a Spring Morning)
Arthur Meulemans: Symphony No. 4
Dana Wilson: Of my dream before me… (world premiere)
Karel Husa: Apotheosis of This Earth
J.S. Bach (attr.) / Reed: Mein Jesu, Was für Seelenweh (My Jesus, O what anguish), BWV 487

About the UMD Wind Orchestra (UMWO):
Led by Michael Votta, Jr., UMWO is a leading voice among collegiate ensembles in premiering new works for winds. This season’s engaging performances will feature faculty soloists and world premieres of new works and masterworks of the 20th and 21st centuries.