Borodin’s Polovtsian Dances: UMD Symphony Orchestra - LIVESTREAM

Borodin’s Polovtsian Dances - LIVESTREAM

UMD Symphony Orchestra
Saturday, December 11, 2021 . 8PM
Photo by David Andrews
Principal People: 

David Neely, conductor

Event Attributes

Presented By

Presented By: 

For more information regarding accessible accommodations, please click here.


Take a musical stroll through Harlem, New York, and experience the vibrant energy of African American cultural touchstones in Carlos Simon’s The Block. The movements are inspired by the Romare Bearden paintings by the same name. Then, journey back in time to Russia with Alexander Borodin’s “Polovtsian Dances” from the opera Prince Igor. The concert will conclude with prolific 19th century German composer Emilie Mayer’s melodically lush Symphony No. 7 in F minor.

Carlos Simon: The Block
Alexander Borodin: “Polovtsian Dances” from Prince Igor
Emilie Mayer: Symphony No. 7 in F minor

About the UMD Symphony Orchestra (UMSO):
Through its committed and polished performances under the baton of David Neely, UMSO is dedicated to the power of musical communication. In its repertoire, the orchestra explores the intersection between traditional symphonic masterworks and marginalized works from various eras, with many programs featuring composers of diverse backgrounds.