The Sounds of Silence

The Sounds of Silence

UMD Wind Orchestra
Friday, May 4, 2018 . 8 PM
Photo by Geoffrey Sheil
Principal People: 

Michael Votta, director 

Event Attributes

Presented By

Presented By: 

Poulenc’s Aubade, originally composed as a ballet about women’s solitary experiences, features faculty piano soloist Rita Sloan. Zhou Long’s Concerto for Wind Symphony evokes ancient Chinese rituals and sounds in a tour-de-force for the ensemble, contrasted by Stravinsky's Octet for Winds, a neoclassical masterpiece.