National Orchestral Institute Faculty

Richard Scerbo, Director

The faculty of the National Orchestral Institute are drawn from the top orchestras and universities from across the United States. At NOI they lead intensive sectionals on the orchestra repertoire and offer detailed masterclasses aimed to enhance audition techniques and refine orchestral performance.

2017 Faculty List

Partial Listing. (Updated 11/28/16)


Artist in Residence for Violin

  • William Preucil, Concertmaster, Cleveland Orchestra 

Artist in Residence for Orchestra Studies

  • Jennifer Ross, Principal Second Violin, Pittsburgh Symphony Orchestra


  • Paul Arnold, Philadelphia Orchestra
  • Juliana Athayde, Concertmaster, Rochester Philharmonic and Eastman School of Music
  • Amy Oshiro-Morales, Philadelphia Orchestra 
  • Jennifer Ross, Principal Second, Pittsburgh Symphony Orchestra
  • Jeff Thayer, Concertmaster, San Diego Symphony Orchestra
  • David Salness, University of Maryland & Left Bank Quartet
  • James Stern, University of Maryland


  • Karin Brown, Assistant Principal, Baltimore Symphony Orchestra
  • Katherine Murdock, Left Bank Quartet & University of Maryland
  • Robert Vernon, Principal, Cleveland Orchestra
  • Stephen Wyrczynski, Indiana University


  • Robert DeMaine, Principal, Los Angeles Philharmonic
  • Stephen Geber, Principal (Ret.), Cleveland Orchestra
  • Yumi Kendall, Acting Associate Principal, Philadelphia Orchestra


  • Maximilian Dimoff, Principal, Cleveland Orchestra
  • Jeffrey Turner, Principal, Pittsburgh Symphony Orchestra
  • Ali Yazdanfar, Principal, Orchestre Symphonique de Montreal



  • Bart Feller, Principal, New Jersey Symphony Orchestra
  • Aaron Goldman, Principal, National Symphony Orchestra


  • Robert Atherholt, Principal (Ret.), Houston Symphony Orchestra & Rice University
  • Mark Hill, Principal, National Philharmonic & University of Maryland
  • Robert Walters, English horn, Cleveland Orchestra & Oberlin Conservatory


  • Paul Cigan, National Symphony Orchestra
  • Yehuda Gilad, Colburn School and University of Southern California
  • Ricardo Morales, Principal, Philadelphia Orchestra


  • John Clouser, Principal, Cleveland Orchestra
  • Sue Heineman, Principal, National Symphony Orchestra
  • Frank Morelli, Orpheus Chamber Orchestra



  • Gregory Miller, University of Maryland & Empire Brass
  • William VerMeulen, Principal, Houston Symphony Orchestra
  • Gail Williams, Chicago Chamber Musicians & Northwestern University


  • Chris Gekker, Principal, National Philharmonic & University of Maryland
  • Mark Inouye, Principal, San Francisco Symphony Orchestra
  • Ben Wright, Boston Symphony Orchestra


  • Matthew Guilford, National Symphony Orchestra
  • Craig Mulcahy, Principal, National Symphony Orchestra
  • Larry Zalkind, Eastman School of Music


  • David Fedderly, Baltimore Symphony Orchestra & University of Maryland


  • Jauvon Gilliam, Principal Timpani, National Symphony Orchestra & University of Maryland
  • William James, Principal Percussion, St. Louis Symphony Orchestra
  • Eric Shin, Principal Percussion, National Symphony Orchestra & University of Maryland
  • John Tafoya, Indiana University


  • Sarah Fuller, Baltimore Symphony Orchestra