National Orchestral Institute Faculty

NOI+F faculty are drawn from leading North American symphony orchestras and conservatories. At the Festival, they lead intensive sectionals on the orchestral repertoire and offer intimate masterclasses aimed at enhancing audition techniques and refining orchestral performance.

NOI+F 2024 Faculty

This list is subject to change

Asterisk* Denotes Alumni 


Violin Artists in Residence

  • Jennifer Ross, Principal Second Violin (Ret.), Pittsburgh Symphony Orchestra, (teaches lessons)


  • Paul Arnold, The Philadelphia Orchestra

  • Juliana Athayde, Concertmaster, Rochester Philharmonic & Eastman School of Music

  • Nikki Chooi, Concertmaster, Buffalo Philharmonic

  • Qing Li, Principal Second Violin, Baltimore Symphony Orchestra, and Peabody Conservatory

  • Amy Oshiro-Morales, The Philadelphia Orchestra

  • Jennifer Ross, Principal Second (Ret.), Pittsburgh Symphony Orchestra

  • Marc Rovetti, Asst. Concertmaster, The Philadelphia Orchestra

  • Yuan-Qing Yu, Asst. Concertmaster, Chicago Symphony Orchestra, Northwestern University & Roosevelt University


  • Karin Brown, Asst. Principal Viola, Baltimore Symphony Orchestra

  • Choong-Jin Chang, Principal, The Philadelphia Orchestra & Peabody Conservatory

  • Joan DerHovsepian, Principal, Houston Symphony & Rice University

  • Wei-Ting Kuo, Chicago Symphony Orchestra & DePaul University


  • Ilya Finkelshteyn, Principal, Cincinnati Symphony & University of Cincinnati College-Conservatory of Music

  • Yumi Kendall, Asst. Principal, The Philadelphia Orchestra*

  • Kenneth Olsen, Asst. Principal, Chicago Symphony Orchestra


  • Nina DeCesare, Baltimore Symphony Orchestra

  • Ian Hallas, Chicago Symphony & Northwestern University

  • Braizahn Jones, Asst. Principal, Oregon Symphony*

  • Jeffrey Turner, Principal (Ret.), Pittsburgh Symphony Orchestra & Indiana University



  • Bart Feller, Principal, New Jersey Symphony, Santa Fe Opera & Rutgers University

  • Christina Smith, Principal, Atlanta Symphony

  • John Thorne, Assoc. Principal (ret.), Houston Symphony & Northwestern University


  • Erik Behr, Principal, Rochester Philharmonic*

  • Nathan Hughes, Principal, Minnesota Orchestra & The Juilliard School*

  • Jamie Roberts, Asst. Principal, National Symphony Orchestra

  • William Welter, Principal, Chicago Symphony Orchestra*


  • Yehuda Gilad, Colburn School and University of Southern California

  • Lin Ma, Principal, National Symphony Orchestra

  • Ricardo Morales, Principal, Philadelphia Orchestra & Temple University


  • William Buchman, Asst. Principal, Chicago Symphony Orchestra & DePaul University

  • Sue Heineman, Principal, National Symphony Orchestra

  • Frank Morelli, Co- Principal, Orpheus Chamber Orchestra, The Juilliard School, Yale School of Music, Manhattan School of Music, SUNY Stony Brook & Aaron Copland School of Music



  • Oto Carrillo, Chicago Symphony Orchestra & DePaul University*

  • Gregory Miller, University of Maryland & Empire Brass

  • Denise Tryon, Indiana University

  • Gail Williams, Chicago Symphony (Ret.), Chicago Chamber Musicians & Northwestern University


  • Ethan Bensdorf, New York Philharmonic & Manhattan School of Music*

  • David Bilger, Principal, Philadelphia Orchestra (Ret.) & Northwestern University

  • Chris Gekker, Principal, National Philharmonic & University of Maryland

  • Michael Harper, Assoc. Principal, National Symphony*

  • Amy McCabe, Principal, “The President’s Own” United States Marine Band


  • Matthew Guilford, Bass trombone, National Symphony Orchestra

  • Megumi Kanda, Principal, Milwaukee Symphony

  • Larry Zalkind, Eastman School of Music

  • Craig Mulcahy, Principal, National Symphony Orchestra


  • Willie Clark, United States Air Force Band & University of Maryland

  • David Fedderly, Ret. Principal, Baltimore Symphony Orchestra

  • Craig Knox, Principal, Pittsburgh Symphony, Curtis Institute & Carnegie Mellon University


  • Eric Shin, Principal Percussion, National Symphony Orchestra & University of Maryland*

  • Jauvon Gilliam, Principal Timpani, National Symphony Orchestra

  • James Ross, Chicago Symphony Orchestra & Eastman School of Music

  • John Tafoya, Principal, National Symphony (Ret.) & Indiana University

  • Alana Wiesing, Principal Timpani, Tucson Symphony Orchestra*


  • Sarah Fuller, Baltimore Symphony Orchestra & University of Maryland  


  • Jennifer Higdon

  • Nathan Lincoln-DeCusatis, Fordham University

  • Gabriela Ortiz, Mexican University of Mexico City


  • Marin Alsop, Music Director, National Orchestral Institute + Festival; Chief Conductor, ORF Vienna Radio Symphony Orchestra; Chief Conductor and Curator, Ravinia Festival & Music Director Laureate, Baltimore Symphony Orchestra

  • Mei-Ann Chen, Music Director, Chicago Sinfonietta & Chief Conductor, Grosses Orchester Graz at Styriarte.

List subject to change.