National Orchestral Institute Faculty

Richard Scerbo, Director

The faculty of the National Orchestral Institute are drawn from the top orchestras and universities from across the United States. At NOI they lead intensive sectionals on the orchestra repertoire and offer detailed masterclasses aimed to enhance audition techniques and refine orchestral performance.

2018 Faculty List

(Our 2019 Faculty will be announced soon!)


Artist in Residence for Violin

  • William Preucil, Concertmaster, Cleveland Orchestra 

Artist in Residence for Orchestra Studies

  • Jennifer Ross, Principal Second Violin (Ret.), Pittsburgh Symphony Orchestra


  • Paul Arnold, Philadelphia Orchestra
  • Juliana Athayde, Concertmaster, Rochester Philharmonic and Eastman School of Music
  • Amy Oshiro-Morales, Philadelphia Orchestra 
  • Stephen Rose, Principal Second, Cleveland Orchestra
  • Jennifer Ross, Principal Second (Ret.), Pittsburgh Symphony Orchestra
  • David Salness, University of Maryland & Left Bank Quartet
  • James Stern, University of Maryland


  • Karin Brown, Assistant Principal, Baltimore Symphony Orchestra
  • Choong-Jin Chang, Principal, Philadelphia Orchestra
  • Katherine Murdock, Left Bank Quartet & University of Maryland
  • Robert Vernon, Principal, Cleveland Orchestra


  • Robert DeMaine, Principal, Los Angeles Philharmonic
  • Amir Eldan, Oberlin Conservatory
  • Stephen Geber, Principal (Ret.), Cleveland Orchestra
  • Yumi Kendall, Assistant Principal, Philadelphia Orchestra


  • Maximilian Dimoff, Principal, Cleveland Orchestra
  • Jeffrey Turner, Principal, Pittsburgh Symphony Orchestra
  • Ali Yazdanfar, Principal, Orchestre Symphonique de Montreal



  • Bart Feller, Principal, New Jersey Symphony Orchestra
  • Aaron Goldman, Principal, National Symphony Orchestra


  • Erik Behr, Principal, Rochester Philharmonic
  • John Ferrillo, Principal, Boston Symphony Orchestra
  • Mark Hill, Principal, National Philharmonic & University of Maryland


  • Paul Cigan, National Symphony Orchestra
  • Yehuda Gilad, Colburn School and University of Southern California
  • Ricardo Morales, Principal, Philadelphia Orchestra


  • Andrew Brady, Principal, Atlanta Symphony Orchestra
  • Sue Heineman, Principal, National Symphony Orchestra
  • Frank Morelli, Orpheus Chamber Orchestra



  • Gregory Miller, University of Maryland & Empire Brass
  • William VerMeulen, Principal, Houston Symphony Orchestra
  • Gail Williams, Chicago Chamber Musicians & Northwestern University


  • Barbara Butler, Rice University
  • Chris Gekker, Principal, National Philharmonic & University of Maryland
  • Mark Inouye, Principal, San Francisco Symphony Orchestra


  • Matthew Guilford, National Symphony Orchestra
  • Nicholas Platoff, Associate Principal Trombone, San Francisco Symphony Orchestra
  • Douglas Wright, Principal, Minnesota Orchestra
  • Larry Zalkind, Eastman School of Music


  • David Fedderly, Baltimore Symphony Orchestra & University of Maryland


  • Jauvon Gilliam, Principal Timpani, National Symphony Orchestra & University of Maryland
  • Eric Shin, Principal Percussion, National Symphony Orchestra & University of Maryland
  • John Tafoya, Indiana University
  • Richard Weiner, Principal Percussion (Ret.), Cleveland Orchestra


  • Sarah Fuller, Baltimore Symphony Orchestra

List subject to change.