National Orchestral Institute Faculty

Richard Scerbo, Director

The faculty of the National Orchestral Institute are drawn from the top orchestras and universities from across the United States. At NOI they lead intensive sectionals on the orchestra repertoire and offer detailed masterclasses aimed to enhance audition techniques and refine orchestral performance.

2019 Faculty List

(2020 faculty list will be posted in November)


Artist in Residence for Violin

  • Alexander Kerr, Concertmaster, Dallas Symphony Orchestra & Indiana University  

Artist in Residence for Orchestra Studies

  • Jennifer Ross, Principal Second Violin (Ret.), Pittsburgh Symphony Orchestra


  • Elisabeth Adkins, Associate Concertmaster (Ret.), National Symphony Orchestra & Texas Christian University
  • Juliana Athayde, Concertmaster, Rochester Philharmonic and Eastman School of Music
  • Amy Oshiro-Morales, Philadelphia Orchestra 
  • Jennifer Ross, Principal Second (Ret.), Pittsburgh Symphony Orchestra
  • David Salness, University of Maryland & Left Bank Quartet
  • James Stern, University of Maryland
  • Jeffrey Thayer, Concertmaster, San Diego Symphony Orchestra


  • Karin Brown, Assistant Principal, Baltimore Symphony Orchestra
  • Joan DerHovsepian, Associate Principal, Houston Symphony
  • Edward Gazouleas, Boston Symphony (Ret.) & Indiana University
  • David Harding, Carnegie Mellon University
  • Katherine Murdock, Left Bank Quartet & University of Maryland


  • Amir Eldan, Oberlin Conservatory
  • Ilya Finkelshteyn, Principal, Cincinnati Symphony Orchestra & Cincinnati College-Conservatory of Music
  • Stephen Geber, Principal, Cleveland Orchestra (Ret.)
  • Yumi Kendall, Assistant Principal, Philadelphia Orchestra


  • Maximilian Dimoff, Principal, Cleveland Orchestra
  • Braizahn Jones, Assistant Principal, Oregon Symphony
  • Jeffrey Turner, Principal, Pittsburgh Symphony Orchestra
  • Ali Yazdanfar, Principal, Orchestre Symphonique de Montreal



  • Bart Feller, Principal, New Jersey Symphony Orchestra
  • Aaron Goldman, Principal, National Symphony Orchestra
  • Demarre McGill, Principal, Seattle Symphony


  • John Ferrillo, Principal, Boston Symphony Orchestra
  • Mark Hill, Principal, National Philharmonic & University of Maryland
  • Robert Walters, Cleveland Orchestra & Oberlin Conservatory


  • Paul Cigan, National Symphony Orchestra
  • Yehuda Gilad, Colburn School and University of Southern California
  • Ricardo Morales, Principal, Philadelphia Orchestra


  • Sue Heineman, Principal, National Symphony Orchestra
  • Christopher Millard, Principal National Arts Centre Orchestra
  • Frank Morelli, Orpheus Chamber Orchestra



  • Gregory Miller, University of Maryland & Empire Brass
  • William VerMeulen, Principal, Houston Symphony Orchestra
  • Gail Williams, Chicago Chamber Musicians & Northwestern University


  • Chris Gekker, Principal, National Philharmonic & University of Maryland
  • Charles Geyer, Rice University 
  • Mark Inouye, Principal, San Francisco Symphony Orchestra


  • James Box, Principal, Orchestre Symphonique de Montreal
  • Matthew Guilford, National Symphony Orchestra
  • Larry Zalkind, Eastman School of Music


  • David Fedderly, Baltimore Symphony Orchestra & University of Maryland


  • Christopher Deviney, Principal, Philadelphia Orchestra
  • Jauvon Gilliam, Principal Timpani, National Symphony Orchestra & University of Maryland
  • Eric Shin, Principal Percussion, National Symphony Orchestra & University of Maryland
  • John Tafoya, Indiana University


  • Sarah Fuller, Baltimore Symphony Orchestra

List subject to change.